The following is a transcript of an interview with Mr Koo Ah Lek conducted on 10 April 2008 by Secondary 2 student Jin Xiang.

JinXiang: Thank you sir for granting us an interview. Let us start our first question. When were you first appointed as a SAC member?

Mr Koo: Let me give you a history how I become a SAC member. I joined the school SAC member in 1979 and that was the year when the school started. I was introduced by Mr Tan Joo Keng the first principal of Ang Mo kio Secondary. He was actually my school teacher when I was in Outram Secondary school back then. And after I left school, I still keep in touch with Mr Tan regularly. And one day, he called me and asked me would I be interested in doing some community work and I was invited by the school principal. The school principal said the first thing he need to do is to form a school SAC and he invited me to sit in the committee and sit as a treasurer. And that was the first time I heard of the SAC. So I told him I am not very familiar with the SAC and he told me to come and join for 1 term which is 2 years and after that you can decide do you wish to continue. Then that was supposed to be a 2 year term and it turned out to be a long 30 year term.

JinXiang: So what is a role of a SAC member in the school?

Mr Koo: From day 1 I have been appointed as the SAC treasurer as I have been an accountant so I am more familiar with the accounts. The important thing is that I look after the school account and then to present statement of account to the SAC members during the meeting. And also to ensure balance budget means revenues against expenses that means do not overspent. Normally what happen is before a new financial year started, the school principal is also the secretary of the SAC, will present or submit a project statement to the SAC. The statement will show the various projects that the school would like to implement in the following year. And I was a treasurer, I would help to evaluate the various projects and then to ensure that the SAC have sufficient financial resources to implement these various project. And then I would recommend to the committee for the approval and once the approval is given, the school will proceed with the project by the approving budget given and that is my role. To summarise it, my main role is to look after the account of the SAC and to make sure the funds of SAC are probably use.

JinXiang: What was your impression of AMKSS students back then and now?

Mr Koo: In the past I believed that the student are more concentrated on their studies but today the student are more balanced in the way of CCA and their studies. As a SAC member, I was used to get invitation from the school, two or three times a year to attend the school function, and I think the most important was the Speech Day. But today the school have more and more activites so invitation has also extended to the SAC member. And I also notice that the students today are more actively participating in programmes or events organized by the neighborhood grassroot organization.

JinXiang: What was the most memorable moments during your term of office with the school to date.

Mr Koo: Ok I will relate this with one incident which I will never forget. Few years ago I was thinking to step down my place as a treasurer and retired cause I have served the school SAC for more than 25 years at that point of time already. And I thought it was a good time for me to step down, and let some younger people to take over or continue. But unfortunately at that point of time, there were quite a few member including our chairmen would want to retire and step down. And our school SAC suddenly shrink or deduced to very few members and there was not enough members to hold the meeting. So it was really a crisis and the school principal at that point of time requested me to stay on until things are sorted out. So at that critical moment, I not only decide to defer my retirement, but also help management to recruit some grassroot leaders and come and help us. I managed to convince them and they come and join our committee. Today our committee are back to strength and we have 15 members, and form a very strong team and consists of different backgrounds and professions.

JinXiang: What do you think are the achievements of the school?

Mr Koh: If based on the result I learnt from various newspaper, I think the school has been doing very well. In the old days, it was just a neighborhood school and now Ang Mo kio Secondary school have become very popular. A lot of student would like to get in but they are unable to. The school intake had rise, in term of points and I also know that the school is ranking within the 30th in Singapore.

JinXiang: Thank you!